skip to main content
District Links


Members of the Board

A five member elected board governs the Douglas County School System. The Douglas County Board of Education is charged with the power of authority to maintain, finance, and make policies to govern the public schools within its jurisdiction. The superintendent is appointed by the board and is charged with the responsibility of administering the public school program of the Douglas County Board of Education.

Members of the 2017 Board of Education and their election districts are: Devetrion Caldwell, District One; D.T. Jackson, District Two; Tracy Rookard, Chair, District Three; Michelle Simmons, Vice Chair, District Four; and Jeff Morris, District Five. Mr. Trent North is the Superintendent.

Regular meetings of the board are scheduled on the first and third Monday of each month (with the exception of January, February, April, July, November and December) in the Board Room of the Central Office Administrative Building, 9030 Highway 5, Douglasville, Georgia. Exceptions to the regularly set dates are primarily based on school system holidays.

Board meetings are called to order at 6:00 p.m., and then move directly into executive session. At 7:00 p.m. the public session is reconvened.

Douglas County School System • 9030 Highway 5, Douglasville, GA 30134 • Phone: (770) 651-2000 Copyright © 2018 Douglas County School System SCHOOLinSITES